Myles Tan

Fun Fact #3

In Fun Facts on February 25, 2011 at 6:07 am

The TTC is going to be an essential service!

Forward: some of these fun facts will be opinionated and biased. Like this one.

Earlier this week, the city introduced a bill which would essentially consider the TTC an essential service for the city.

Funny, because last time I checked, in order to be an essential service, you can’t suck. I would agree that the central transit system of any city should be considered an essential service, but I believe that the description of ‘essential service’ would contain something saying it must be reliable because it is…well…essential.

Imagine, if you will:

Operator: “This is 911, what is the nature of your emergency?”

Citizen: “Hi, I’ve hurt myself severely, I am in a lot of pain and I need to get to a hospital. Please send an ambulance.”

Operator: “I’m sorry, our northbound ambulance services from the fire station closest to you is currently experiencing difficulties. Sorry for the inconvenience.”

I’d like to see that one fly.

Point: yeah you are an essential service and deserve the label, but get your service up to that par as well. Preferably soon, and without more price increases.

Leave a Reply

