Myles Tan

Fun Fact #1

In Fun Facts, Tea on February 20, 2011 at 6:27 pm

Rooibos tea leaves aren’t actually leaves.

As of late I have taken an interest in loose leaf teas. It seems a bit chiche, or whatever you’d like to call it, but they smell so good it’s kind of hard not too.

Rooibos is an interesting type of tea, and as I was smelling away I learned that the tea isn’t made from tea leaves, rooibos tea comes from a thorny bush native to Africa. Rooibos literally meads “red bush”.

It’s taste is described as “naturally sweet and nutty”, and since I’m no expert I would have to agree with that. Pure rooibos is a bit earthy and mild, so I got some of the orange citrus rooibos, and I’m loving it. ‘Clears your sinuses too.

Leave a Reply

